(Affiliated to S.V.University, Tirupati, A.P.)

(ISO 9001:2015 Certified Institution)
Narayanavanam Road, Puttur, Chittoor (Dt), A.P.- 517583

Email:, Phone: 08577-261480

National Service Scheme (NSS) - Overview

            The First Education Commission (1950) recommended the introduction of national service by students on a voluntary basis. Subsequently on the basis of suggestion made by the then Prime Minister Pt. Nehru, a committee was appointed under the Chairmanship of Dr. C. D Deshmukh to prepare a scheme for compulsory national service by students prior to their admission for degree courses. Prof. K.G. Saiyidain who undertook a study of national service by youth in several countries, recommended that national service may be introduced on a voluntary basis. A similar recommendation was made by the Education Commission appointed under the Chairmanship of Dr. D.S. Kothari. In pursuance of these recommendations, the ministry of Education introduced the National Service Scheme during 1969-70.
        The Motto or watchwood of the national service scheme is NOT ME BUT YOU. This express the  essence  of democratic living and upholds the need for selfless service and appreciation of the other mans point of view and also to show consideration for fellow human beings it underlines that welfare of an individual is ultimately dependent on the welfare of society as a whole therefore it should be the aim of the NSS to demonstrate this motto in its day-to-day programme.
            Emblem signifies cycle of creation, preservation and continuous effort for social transformation and upliftment.
          It indicates that students should extend their lively, spirited and active services round the clock for the welfare of the mankind. Involvement of students in NSS activities develops their interpersonal skills, empathy, service oriented attitude thus shaping them responsible citizens.

Aim:  Development of the personality of students through community service


  •  To work with/among people.
  • To engage in creative and constructive social action.    
  • To enhance his/her knowledge of himself/herself   and the community.
  • To put his/her scholarship to practical use in mitigating at least some of the problems.
  • To gain skill in the exercise of democraticleadership      
  • To gain skills in programme development to enable him/her for self –employment
  • To bridge the gulf between the educated and the uneducated messes; and
  • To promote the will to serve the weaker section of the community   
Govt. Degree College, PUTTUR       

   Govt. Degree College, Puttur is having two NSS Units one unit for services and one for arts students. Each unit is having NSS programme officer under the leadership of Programme officers, the enrollment of the NSS volunteers will be done. Under each unit nearly 100 to 130 students will be enrolled and as a total of two units approximately 250 students will be enrolled.

            The NSS wings of Govt. Degree College, Puttur play very active role in almost all the programmes and activities of the college like International Yoga Day, Adoption of Villager, in conducting Free Medial campus, Blood Donation campus, AIDS Awareness Rally, World Unity Day, Independence Day, NSS Day, Republic Day, International Women’s Day, Gandhi Jayanthi, Peace Rallies, College Day  Celebration etc.,

Apart from all these programme, the NSS volunteers will take part in all the cultural competition like Intercollegiate cultural Festival, NSS Youth Festival Pre-Republic Day Parades and also participate in National Integration Campus.

            These will be Special Camping programmes in adopted villages for one week. Special camping programmer conducted in Kalyana Puram SC Colony, Govindapalem, Veerapareddypalem, Ippathanga, CTR, Netham etc., In special camping programme, Social-Economic services Swatch – Bharath, Tree Plantation, Health and Hygiene awareness programme will be highlighted.



Name  Designation Position NSS UnIt (s)
Dr. G, Sreenivasulu Reddy Principal Chairperson  Unit I & II
Dr. K. Sreenivasulu Lecturer in  Commerce Programme Officer Unit I
Dr. Dr. T. Raghuraman Lecturer in Physics Programme Officer Unit II


NSS Commiittee


S.No. Name  Designation Position in NSS Committee
1 Dr. G, Sreenivasulu Reddy Principal Chairperson & Convener 
2 Dr. K. Sreenivasulu Lecturer in Commerce Programme Officer
3 Dr. T. Raghuraman Lecturer in  Physics Programme Officer
4 Dr.  Dr. S. Vasanth Kumar Lectuer in Mathematics Member
5 Dr. M. Narasimhulu Lecturer In Telugu Member